Research Guidance

Students & Researchers

“From the first day you start working in a laboratory, you are a scientist. You may not be an experienced scientist but on any given day anybody can have a great idea.”

Michael Hemann, MIT Spectrum, Summer 2007.

I am interested in people who share, extend, and challenge my interests. The best way to get started is to peruse my research pages to find out what I’ve been up to, see if anything appeals to you, and mention this and my name in your application to the Petroleum Engineering Programme, Department of Ocean Engineering. This goes via the Indian Institute of Technology Madras, which has its own set of rules and deadlines, as you can find out from their web pages.

Previous Doctoral Students (Ph.D. awarded while serving at IIT Madras)

  1. Dr. R. T. Ratheesh Kumar (Assistant Professor, Department of Marine Geology and Geophysics – CUSAT)
  2. Dr. C. S. Vijayalakshmi (Geoscientist, GSI)
  3. Dr. Deshraj Trivedi (Geoscientist, GSI)
  4. Dr. Ramakrushna Reddy (CSIR-NIO, Goa and Recipient of National Post-Doctoral Fellowship)
  5. Dr. G. L. Manjunath (Post-Doctoral Fellow of Viterbi School of Engineering, University of Southern California)
  6. Dr. Yudhvir Singh (Geophysicist, GSI)
  7. Dr.K. Devi
  8. Dr.Shanker Krishna

Previous Masters and B.Tech Students (MS/M.Tech/B.Tech Thesis supervised)

  1. Sagnik Basu Roy (M.Sc Applied Geology, IIT Kharagpur) – GAIL
  2. Rajesh K.Soni (M.Sc Geophysics, IIT Kharagpur) – Cairn India Ltd.
  3. Tannistha Maiti (Integrated M.Sc Geophysics, IIT Kharagpur) – ONGC
  4. Ramakrushna Reddy (M.Tech Computational Seismology, IIT Kharagpur) – CSIR-NIO, Goa
  5. Saurabh Mittal (M.Tech Earth Science, IIT Kharagpur) – Associate Professor, University of Petroleum and Energy Studies
  6. Ramakrushna Das (M.Tech Computational Seismology, IIT Kharagpur)
  7. Tarumay Ghosal (Integrated M.Sc Geophysics, IIT Kharagpur) – Assistant Professor, Dehradun Institute of Technology
  8. Nilanjan Mardanya (Integrated M.Sc Geophysics, IIT Kharagpur) – ONGC
  9. Soumya Kanti Maiti (Integrated M.Sc Geophysics, IIT Kharagpur) – Research Scientist, Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur
  10. Suresh Chandra Kandpal (M.Tech Computational Seismology, IIT Kharagpur) – Indira Gandhi Centre for Atomic Research
  11. Tanmay Maji (M.Tech Computational Seismology, IIT Kharagpur) – ONGC
  12. Sharath Shekhar (M.Sc Exploration Geophysics, IIT Kharagpur) – ONGC
  13. Ravish Kumar (M.Sc Exploration Geophysics, IIT Kharagpur)
  14. Vivek Ramalingam (M.Tech Petroleum Engineering, IIT Madras) – Ph.D. Student at Indian Institute of Technology Madras
  15. Arun Nath (M.Tech Petroleum Engineering, IIT Madras) – Weatherford, Abu Dhabi
  16. Hasmiraj Asthanaditta (M.Tech Petroleum Engineering, IIT Madras) – IBM India Pvt. Ltd.
  17. Prattya Datta (M.Tech Petroleum Engineering, IIT Madras/Alumnus of IPGP) – Ph.D. Student at BSC-CNS, Barcelona
  18. Nagendra Babu Mahadasu (M.Tech Petroleum Engineering, IIT Madras) – Geophysicist, ONGC
  19. Rajesh Babu Annavarappu (M.Tech Petroleum Engineering, IIT Madras) – Geophysicist, Central Ground Water Board
  20. Abhimanyu (B.Tech Naval Architecture, IIT Madras) – Garden Reach Shipbuilders and Engineers
  21. Harish Vuba (B.Tech Naval Architecture, IIT Madras)
  22. Kumar Varma  (B.Tech Naval Architecture, IIT Madras)
  23. G. Prasanth Sai (B.Tech Naval Architecture, IIT Madras) – Travel Triangle
  24. Arpit Chaudhary (M.Tech Petroleum Engineering, IIT Madras) – SUN Oil and Natural Gas
  25. Shashwat Sharma (M.Tech Petroleum Engineering, IIT Madras / Recipient of Prof. M.S Ananth Prize) – SUN Oil and Natural Gas
  26. Chrs. Girish (M.Tech Petroleum Engineering, IIT Madras)
  27. Vivek B (M.Tech Petroleum Engineering, IIT Madras)
  28. Cherry Mary Jyotshna (M.Tech Petroleum Engineering, IIT Madras) – Geophysicist, ONGC
  29. Anand S (M.Tech Petroleum Engineering, IIT Madras / Recipient of Prof. M.S Ananth Prize) – Fertilisers And Chemicals Travancore Ltd. (FACT)
  30. Sunil Kumar (M.Tech Petroleum Engineering, IIT Madras) – Heavy Engineering Corporation Ltd. (HEC)

Current M.Tech and B.Tech Students at IIT Madras

  1. Sarthak Shah (M.Tech Petroleum Engineering, IIT Madras) – Assistant Executive Engineer (Cementing), ONGC

Current Doctoral Students at IIT Madras

  1. Vishnu Uppalakkal (Interdisciplinary Candidate) – Recipient of Erasmus+ International Credit Mobility Fellowship / Joint Doctoral Scholar at Curtin University
  2. Nagendra Babu MahadasuGeophysicist, ONGC
  3. Shashank Sharma (Upgraded from M.Tech to Ph.D.)
  4. Venkatesh Ambati (Upgraded from M.Tech to Ph.D.) – Recipient of Prof. M.S Ananth Prize

Previous Exchange Student

  1. Daniel Köhn – Graduate Student from RWTH AACHEN (2017)

Project Assistant

  1. Nethaji Jeyachandran