MoUs Championed by me

Being a faculty member of IIT Madras, Dr. Rajesh Nair has championed a couple of MoUs for highly motivated students and researchers who aim at pursuing a career in Oil and Gas Industry or as an academician focusing on areas of research in Offshore and Onshore Hydrocarbon Exploration and Production.

Student Exchange Program (International Master’s Degree – Master of Research)

Institut de Physique du Globe de Paris (IPGP, Paris – France)

The Institut de Physique du Globe de Paris (IPGP; French for “Paris Institute of Earth Physics”) is a French governmental, non-profit research and higher education establishment located in Paris, dedicated to the study of earth and planetary sciences by combining observations, laboratory analysis and construction of conceptual analogical and numerical models. IPGP is part of CNRS (UMR 7154) and University Paris-Diderot. It is the second largest CNRS research unit in France. The institute has 14 research divisions and 6 observatories. IPGP is also in charge by the French government of monitoring the active volcanoes on French territories in addition to the management of the worldwide network of seismological stations GEOSCOPE, and a major contribution to the worldwide network of magnetic observatories Intermagnet. IPGP maintains permanent volcanologic observatories on the islands of Réunion (Piton de la Fournaise), Guadeloupe (La Soufrière), and Martinique (Mount Pelée). The institute also maintains several analytical facilities in applied geophysics as well as a park of a variety of geophysical instruments.

Students who have availed this MoU

1. Prattya Datta – Currently pursuing PhD at BSC-CNS, Barcelona

2. Shanker Krishna – Currently pursuing PhD under the research guidance of Dr. Rajesh R Nair at IIT Madras

Joint Doctoral Degree Program

Curtin University, Australia

Curtin University (a trademark of Curtin University of Technology) is an Australian public research university based in Bentley, Perth, Western Australia. Curtin University is a member of Australian Technology Network (ATN), and is active in research in a range of academic and practical fields, including Resources and Energy (e.g., petroleum gas), Information and Communication, Health, Ageing and Well-being (Public Health), Communities and Changing Environments, Growth and Prosperity and Creative Writing. It is the only Western Australian University to produce a PhD recipient of the AINSE gold medal, which is the highest recognition for PhD-level research excellence in Australia and New Zealand. The University Departments of Exploration Geophysics and Petroleum Engineering are located at the co-location research facilities of the Australian Resources Research Centre (ARRC) which also houses offices of CSIRO Earth Science and Resource Engineering and National Measurement Institute.

Students who have availed this MoU

1. Vishnu Uppalakkal – Interdisciplinary Candidate pursuing PhD under the research guidance of Dr. Rajesh R Nair at IIT Madras